Samuel Adams Chocolate Bock

chocbock

A friend of mine brought over a couple of bottles of this to a party we hosted on Saturday.  I’m not a big fan of chocolate flavoured beers (I added the extra “u” to be pretentious) so I was a bit hesitant to try it.

But it actually surprised me.  I was expecting an almost overwhelming chocolate taste or something on the coffee side.  I don’t know why.  But the chocolate in this bock is nicely understated.  It’s very malty and meaty…not something you normally hear about a beer.  But meaty was the first thing that came to mind.  Maybe the slightest hint of hazelnut?  I dunno.  I’m pretty terrible at identifying shit like that.  I really liked that it wasn’t bitter like so many chocolate beers I have had.  In fact, I would say this is my second-favorite chocolate beer after Young’s Double Chocolate Stout.  That’s a good beer, my friends.

As understated as it is, I still consider it to be a dessert beer.  Certainly not a session beer.  Maybe some fruit or some cheesecake to go along with it.  Yeah…I could see that.

My Rating: 7 out of 10

4 Responses

  1. I love Young’s Double Choc, especially on tap, though more than two and the sweetness just gets to me. Rogue makes a DubChoc too that is pretty comparable.

  2. Uncool – I’ve only had Young’s in the bottle or can. Never seen Rogue’s, but I don’t really search out chocolate beers. I generally like hoppy over malty and the chocolate beers are always super malty.

  3. I prefer my beers to be fruity if they’re going to be flavored and I’m not super stoked over bocks aside from double bock with high abv 🙂 but the bottle is cool so maaaaaybe I will try it.

  4. This is a good beer to try. I liked it a little more than the Young’s but you can’t go wrong with either really.

Leave a Reply

