Southern Tier Oak Aged Unearthly

oakipa

That’s a mouthful, eh?

Sometimes I just dive into a beer without really thinking about it.  We watched Forgetting Sarah Marshall tonight (very good, by the way) and I opened a large bottle of this brew to enjoy while watching the flick.  I should have paid a bit more attention to the bottle, because this was definitely one to savor.

It’s an Imperial IPA, and Imperial generally means big alcohol.  This didn’t disappoint.  It comes in at a hefty 11.0% ABV and it packs a punch. But at the same time it is also very drinkable.  I love a good contradiction.

The kids at Southern Tier really get it when it comes to specialty brews.  This one excites, enhances, and any other “e” word you can think of.  It’s THAT good.  Big hoppy first bite that mellows (must be the oak) as the beer warms up.  One of the reasons that I wish I had read the bottle before starting it is that they recommend drinking the beer at a slightly warmer temperature.  That’s when it excels.  Ohhh…another “e” word.  Excellent!

Like the picture above suggests, I would imagine that it would go great with cheese.  I wasn’t eating anything as I already had a belly full of BBQ from a local joint.  Deep fried pickled jalepeno slices, waffle fries and a great jerked chicken sammy.  So this IPA was more of a dessert for me.  That’s how I roll.

My Rating: 9 out of 10

3 Responses

  1. That looks delicious… *drool*

  2. Oooooh – that sounds like a good beer.

    Where do you find all these different beers?

    • Callie – I have two very cool sources for my beer. My local beer distributor is run by a woman who gets very excited for good craft beer and she always points me toward any new offerings. But the second is the woman I live with and love. Gia is a sales rep for a craft beer distributor here in NY. Hardly a day goes by without her bringing home some samples for her man. One of the companies she represents is Southern Tier, so she is the one who turned me on to them.

Leave a Reply

