Super Baladin

I’ve been a bad boy and I haven’t posted in quite a while.

Doesn’t mean I haven’t been drinking beer.  Far from it.  It’s just that I haven’t really been trying any new beers.  Or very many at least.  I’ve got a few that I’ve built up a folder on, so let’s start with Italy and Super Baladin from Birrifico Le Baladin.

super_baladin
The best way to describe it would be to compare it to a Belgian triple.  It’s a bit strong, carrying an ABV of 8.0% and it is sold in an ultra-large 25.4oz bottle.  It is actually an amalgam of English yeast used in the first fermentation process and Belgian yeast used for the bottle fermentation.  The result is just plain delicious.

A whole array of different aromas arise from the initial pour of the brew.  Banana, pineapple, pear?  I dunno, I’ve never been really good at identifying that kind of thing.  All I know is that it smelled fruity and wonderful.  The taste followed suit deliciously.  A delicious caramel malt with strong spice and yeasty flavors.  I’ve seen a few reviews on beer advocate that talk about a strong sour flavor, but I haven’t noticed it.  It’s definitely got some tang, but nothing like a true sour ale.

I think it would go great with some strong cheeses and some olives.   But I pretty much think that just about everything goes well with cheese and some olives.

My Rating: 8 out of 10

One Response

  1. I’ll be on the lookout for this one, though I probably won’t find it out here…maybe when I go back to California to visit. Sounds interesting.

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

