Shipyard Pumpkinhead

It’s a funny thing.  Every year I try the Pumpkin Ale offering from Shipyard Brewing Co. out of Maine.  And every year I’m disappointed.  Must be a genetic defect on my part.

I tried it for the first time a couple of weeks ago and my string of un-impressed tastings has reached 4 or 5 years in a row now.  Then I started reading some great reviews of it online and even my guy at the local distributor claimed that it was his favorite Pumpkin Ale.  By far.

So tonight I picked up a sixer of it to give it a second (5th? 6th?) chance. 

Bad move.

While it possesses one of the more interesting aromas (a lot of spice…not a lot of pumpkin) out of any of the Pumpkins on the market today, that is where it’s appeal ends.  For me, at least.  It’s thin.  It’s watery.  It’s got no aftertaste whatsoever.  I relate it to the Coors Light of Pumpkin Ales.  It’s THAT weak.  Not necessarily awful, just weak and disappointing.

My Rating: 3 out of 10.

2 Responses

  1. I had not idea there was Pumpkin Ales. Probably sounds crazy I know but I’m more a wine drinker. I’m going to have to have my husband pick me one to try it, just not this one. 🙂 I enjoy reading your reviews.

  2. Hi, yeah I agree with you. This year was the first time I’ve tried this Pumpkin Ale and I wasn’t all that impressed either. I’m in straight agreement with your review except I found mine a little “sour” tasting also.

    I reviewed one of my favorite pumpkin ales and highly recommend it to anyone who likes pumpkin beers or is looking to try one for the first time.

    P.S. I’m adding your blog link to my roll if that’s okay. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

