Southern Tier

We sat down prior to a delicious meal of pasta and meatballs from Maroni’s this evening to try a couple of seasonal brews from Southern Tier Brewing Companyout of Lakewood New York. The two we tried were the PumKing (an Imperial Pumpkin Ale) and the Creme Brulee (an Imperial Milk Stout). They like the word “Imperial”. And it fits their brews to a T!  We enjoyed the big 22oz bottles, which I’m pretty sure is the only packaging available on these delicious brews.

PumKing – I love pumpkin beers. It’s probably has a lot to do with my love of Autumn just as much as anything. For years when it came to pumpkins, my only choice was Post Road’s Pumpkin Ale. And it was a great choice. A little different every year, it always tasted wonderful. Many years later now, I’ve tried just about every pumpkin beer I could get my grubby hands on. And with absolute glee, I have to say that PumKing is the best of the bunch! So much flavor, so much aroma, great color. It literally has everything going for it. While there are a whole slew of great food pairing ideas with this one, I prefer to enjoy it on its own. What a delicious brew!

My Rating – 10 out of 10.

Creme Brulee – As soon as you open the bottle on this one you can smell a strong toffee aroma that is bigger than the bottle itself.  Great aroma!  It pours nicely with a lush, thick head and it looks great in the glass.  The taste is both smooth, as an Imperial Milk Stout would suggest, and bold as it’s 10.0% ABV would dictate.  Wow!  It’s not a beer that usually fits within my comfort zone, to be honest.  As I’ve mentioned before I have a “thing” about stouts.  But it is unquestionably delicious even though I don’t think I could finish one all by myself.  It would be great with a rich dessert or as a dessert on its own.

My Rating – 7 out of 10.

2 Responses

  1. Thanks for the comment. You’ve got a nice blog going on here! I have the Southern Tier pumpkin in my fridge awaiting review, I’m glad to hear that you liked it. I, too, am a huge fan of everything autumn and spicy so I’m looking forward to it.

    Happy tasting!

  2. Babe – Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

